top of page
Search

Designing the card back


I have rounded up some of (not all) the back of the card designs that I have worked on over the months. If you look at the 20 that are here you would not think that there was hours and hours of designing put into them. I have tried to keep them in order so you can see the top left card was the first one we designed (near enough I think we had 4 before that) and the bottom right is the one we are using today.

When you are working on your designs it is always worth keeping older designs kicking about in case you ever need them. I myself try to keep them but I find myself deleting ones that I hate or ones I think are taking up to much space on the computer (I have 8TB of total space but I am tight with it). You can see how the design changed through the weeks looking at this timeline and some cards only had minor tweaks such as making the border thicker, adding a black outline to the border. These minor changes only take seconds on the program but can take hours for you to decide on the tweak. Nearly every design here was shown to people we know to gain feedback and we worked with that feedback to keep editing the design. I can not stress how important feedback is to your designs so ask people! Get all the feedback you can.

There we have it the finally card back design! This is how it should look when printed and cut, notice the border is thinner, when designing a border on a card make sure you over extend the border so there is plenty of bleed space on the design. I learnt that the hard way to! I hope this helps you with your designs and you can see how the process of developing a card back progresses through the weeks.

Thanks for reading.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page